News and Comments

MA Conference, Awards and AGM 2019

Please book now to avoid disappointment

21 August 2019
MA Conference, Awards and AGM 2019

We are happy to announce that we have been able to increase capacity for the conference to accommodate demand but now have only 30 places left. 


We now have our full line up of speakers confirmed. These include Lady Justice Macur, Senior Presiding Judge; Sir Andrew McFarlane, President of the Family Division; Susan Acland-Hood, Chief Executive of HMCTS; Natasha Broomfield-Reid, Founder of Diverse Matters; Paul Twocock, Interim Chief Executive of Stonewall; Karen Quinn, Chair of Triple A (All About Autism); Carolyn Housman, CEO of Children and Families across Borders; Katrina Ffrench, Chief Executive of Stopwatch; Dr Paul Dawson, Head of Research at the Mayor's Office for Policing and Crime (MOPAC); Polly Harrar, Founder of The Sharan Project; and many more! Please click here for the full event programme.

Just nine days left to nominate for the 2019 MA Awards 

We want to celebrate the success and dedication of our branches and individual members, so please get in touch and let us know who you’d like to nominate for the various categories. These include a NEW Inclusion and Social Value Award, for the member who has done the most to promote the MA and the magistracy to diverse or underrepresented communities, furthering outreach and public knowledge of the magistracy and criminal justice.

The other categories are: MIC Education Award, MIC Community Award, MIC Innovation Award, MIC Presenter of the Year Award, Employer Award, Branch Officer of the Year Award, Retired Member of the Year Award, Special Recognition Award and Branch of the Year Award.

Please use this nomination form to make your nominations and send it to ‘FREEPOST THE MAGISTRATES ASSOCATION’ (please remember not to write the full address on the envelope as this incurs a charge to the MA) or email the form to us at

Nominations close at midnight on 1 September 2019, so please make your submissions before then.

Previous Article Young Magistrates Special Interest Group meeting
Next Article MA Centenary Fund

Please login or register to post comments.