Skip Main Navigation
Share this page

Youth court committee

The MA’s youth court committee assists the staff team in developing and implementing policy relating to the youth court, and steers associated research.

What does the youth court committee do?

The committee meets three times per year to discuss current issues facing youth court magistrates and propose improvements to the operation of the youth court and youth court panel of magistrates.

The committee drafts and approves publications about the youth court including consultation responses, briefings and reports.

Current priorities

The committee wants to improve the operation of the youth court by:

Appointment to the committee

Vacancies on the committee are advertise in the summer each year. Appointment is based on merit and candidates are put forward by the chair of the committee to the Magistrates’ Association Policy Board who have final approval of appointments to committees.

Committee members

  • Chair: Richard Goodacre JP, North and West Yorkshire
  • Deputy Chairs: David Ford JP, Mid and South Glamorgan
  • Kathryn Bailey JP, Gloucestershire
  • Robert Caccavale JP, Essex
  • Caroline Foster JP, Dorset
  • Jackie Hamilton JP, Central Kent
  • Megan Harrison JP, Worcestershire
  • Rosemary Monk JP, Leicestershire and Rutland
  • Susan Painter JP, Cambridgeshire

More information

If you have any queries regarding the committee, please contact Adam Chaddock, Policy and Research Officer.